Azure Recovery

To initiate the recovery from Cloud Assembly, follow the steps below.
  1. Navigate to “Cloud Assemblies” in the left navigation menu
  2. Select a Cloud Assembly to recover
  3. Select the “Timeline” tab, which will list down all the timeline events for that Cloud Assembly
  4. Select a fully protected timeline for recovery. It will open the protection details of the Cloud Assembly for that point in time
  5. From the “Timeline Details,” select “RECOVER” in the top right corner
  6. Enter a name for the recovery and select the recovery type
  7. Select the recovery regions from the list of recovery regions selected during the Cloud Connection configuration, and choose to recover the “Entire Assembly” (Recover all the resources in the assembly) or only the “Specific Resources” (Recover selected resources in the assembly)
  8. Enable the "Select specific resources" and click on the drop down near the resources. You can select only the required few resources for recovery from the list of associated resources listed under the Resource Group
  9. Click “Recover” to recover the protected resources

Recovery Scenarios

Appranix covers the following recovery scenarios during the protected resource's recovery.

  1. The selected resource's recovery will only recover the resources of the selected “resource groups”
  2. 'Same-Region' & 'Cross-Resource group' recovery is supported for MySQL and PostgreSQL Servers
  3. For SQL Server, – Only 'Same-Region' & 'Same-Resource group' recovery is supported – SQL Servers cannot be restored. Only Databases inside the SQL Server can be restored into the same SQL Server

Other region recovery

The user can recover the entire assembly or only the selected resource groups to the recovery region. Appranix creates a new resource group and recovers all the protected resources from the chosen resource group or the entire assembly to the recovery region.

Override Resource Dependencies

Appranix provides a feature to override the resource dependencies in Azure while doing a recovery.

When the override option is enabled, and if a Virtual machine or Virtual Machine Scale Set under a Resource group is selected for recovery,

The Load balancer and the Application Gateway associated with it will be automatically updated (overridden) with the configuration at time of protection and the recovered VM or VMSS will be attached to its backend during the same region recovery. The Network security group associated with it will be updated (overridden) with the configuration at the time of protection, and it will be used by the recovered VM or VMSS

NOTE: Application configurations will be automatically recreated (overridden) if the associated Load Balancer, Application Gateway and Network security group is deleted.

Custom virtual network recovery

Custom network recovery allows the creation of the recovered resources in the network different from the source network. For using this option we need to create the subnets and other configurations as same as the source network.

NOTE: To create subnet for the recovered resource without an IP conflict, it is important to create the custom VNet with subnets of the same name and IP range as the source VNet.

Delete recovered resources

Appranix allows the deletion of recovered resources using the RESET option. The reset of the recovered instances can be scheduled or performed on demand. The reset helps to delete the recovered resources and roll back the Azure resources to the original state. Resetting helps to reduce the Azure cloud cost that can incur due to recovery testing.

  1. Recovery can be deleted by either scheduling a reset or by triggering a reset immediately.
  2. The reset schedule can either be set while configuring recovery or after the completion of recovery
  3. Schedule a reset by choosing the number of hours or days after which the reset has to be triggered
  4. Select the “Reset Now” option to trigger reset immediately
  5. The “Recovery Details” tab has the list of recoveries with essential details of the recovery along with the status of the reset
  6. Once the reset action is triggered, the reset status changes to “Reset In Progress.” When deleted, it changes to “Reset completed”
  7. The “Recovery Logs” tab contains recovery and reset logs. It provides all the details of the execution for recovery, and the reset process details